Uninstall A Downloaded Or Installed Ios 11 Update

Uninstall A Downloaded Or Installed Ios 11 Update

How to remove the iOS 11 update if you decide that the capabilities of the previous version are enough for the iPhone to work properly? Removing the update before installing it on the phone and rolling back after installation.

Delete firmware file

First, let’s figure out how to remove an uninstalled iOS 11 update that has already been downloaded to your phone. The update will be downloaded only after you confirm your desire to install it. Then the firmware file is stored in the device memory until you start the installation of a new system. All this time on the icon of the “Settings” application, a unit will burn, signaling the need to make changes to the configuration.

If you want to upgrade to the new version, go to the "Software Update" section in the "General" settings submenu, and click "Download and Install." After downloading the firmware file, two options will appear in the same section: “Install” and “Later” (start the installation at night or remind later). If you click “Install,” then you will have to restore the device to remove iOS 11. If you click “Later” and select “Remind me later”, you can easily remove the firmware from the iPhone.

To remove the downloaded firmware:

  1. Open the settings.
  2. Select the “General” submenu.
  3. Go to the section "Using storage and iCloud", click "Manage".
  4. Find the downloaded file and tap "Uninstall update."

Done, the update is deleted, the system will not be updated. But this is only temporary calm: the next time you connect to Wi-Fi, iOS will again signal the presence of an update. You can completely ignore updates only after they are prohibited.

Read more:  How To Remove An Application From Iphone

Device recovery

If the user has already updated the system, then no removal of the firmware file will help – it is already installed. On iPhone 5S and other models, this can cause unpleasant crashes and errors. Users report that after installing the update their touchscreen does not work, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth devices do not connect, and there are problems with the battery.

To return the phone or tablet to a healthy state, you need to remove the update and roll back to the previous stable version of iOS. This can only be done in recovery mode via iTunes.

Before restoring your device, be sure to back up your data.

  1. Download the appropriate version of iOS 10.3.3.
  2. Launch iTunes on your computer.
  3. Turn off the device.
  4. Hold down the Home button. While holding it, connect the phone to the computer (on the iPhone 7 you need to hold the power and volume down buttons).
  5. Wait for the connection screen in iTunes.
  6. Hold Shift on your keyboard (Alt / Option on Mac) and click Restore.
  7. Select the previously downloaded iOS 10.3.3 firmware file.
  8. Click Restore and Update.

You are back on the usual tenth iOS, but this will not save you from notifications of updates. You can ignore them, or you can ban them – for a while or forever.

Uninstall A Downloaded Or Installed Ios 11 Update

Ban update

To prevent the device from looking for and downloading updates, add an Apple TV profile to it. In this case, the update server will change to tvOS, and the device will not look for new versions of iOS. To do this:

  1. Launch Safari.
  2. Download the NOOTA.mobileconfig file through it (for example, from hikay.github.io/app).
  3. Select a device and save the profile in the settings.
  4. Reboot the device as requested by the system.
Read more:  How To Remove Ios Update Downloaded (Downloadable) On Iphone Or Ipad, Freeing Up Space

To verify that the method worked, go to the "Software Update" section and start the search for a new version of iOS. The phone / tablet will not find anything, since it will connect to the servers to tvOS. The badge about the availability of updates will be displayed in the settings, but it can also be removed – however, for this you will have to delve into the system files through the iBackupBot program.

If you decide to get rid of the ban, it will be simple to do this: you just need to go to "Settings" – "Basic" – "Profiles" and delete the account from tvOS10.

This is the easiest way to prevent updates that does not require jailbreak and tweaks. If there is a jail on the phone / tablet, then the number of options to prohibit updating increases, but breaking the system just for the sake of this is not worth it, especially considering the fact that you can prohibit updating by simply adding a profile from Apple TV.